Reader supported. We may earn a commission on recommendations.

Medically Reviewed
Published: January 5, 2024

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review

Author: Jon Love (87 Comments)
Medical reviewer: Dr Gemma Wheeler, BDS
Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 1

Editor's note

The Pro 2 2500 has been discontinued. The recommended alternative is the Pro 3 3500.

Nigh on perfect - a must buy electric toothbrush

rating-star-filled
rating-star-filled
rating-star-filled
rating-star-filled
rating-star-half
(4.7)
ask-icon

The Pro 2 2500 is slim, grippy and comfortable in the hand. Providing a great clean of the teeth, it has the essential features you need at an affordable price.

Pros

Cons

check-icon

Slim grippy handle

cross-icon

No icons on the handle to show which cleaning mode is selected

check-icon

Dentist recommended features

check-icon

2 weeks of use on a single charge

check-icon

Travel case

check-icon

Affordable

You want to consider this brush

For a long time, the Pro 2 2500 was our top recommended electric toothbrush. However, it has been discontinued and now the Pro 3 3500 is the newer equivalent.

Very similar to the 2500, it has a more modern design and extra cleaning mode. It cleans the teeth just as well and has become our number 1 choice for the best electric toothbrush.

You might still be able to source the 2500, but it isn't worth paying a premium for.

Design, usability, clean & general use

I apologise now if this review comes over as being too complimentary of the 2500.

As best as possible I like to remain unbiased in a review, but this brush delivers a lot for the price.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 2

The Pro 2 2500 reviewed here evolves from the Pro 2 2000, which is one of our most recommended electric toothbrushes.

Why?

Well, the 2000 series covers all of the bases we see as important in an electric toothbrush.  It does so at a good price with little in the way of compromise.

The 2500 then has good foundations and it is improved by the inclusion of a travel case.

A travel case is not required by everyone, but if you do go away, if only for a night it is very handy.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 3

Fancy travel case this is not, but it's a functional accessory that comes in the box to protect the brush handle and up to 2 brush heads.

Not only does it stop the brush heads becoming frayed or splayed, but it also keeps other items in your bag dry, should the brush heads and handle still be damp.  Plus, it makes it very difficult, if not impossible for the brush to be accidentally turned on.

We have all heard those embarrassing stories of something vibrating in a suitcase when going through customs at the airport.  Nothing dodgy, just your electric toothbrush.  No such worries here.

Do be aware, that the Pro 2 2500 black edition comes with a slightly slimmer all black coloured case compared to the transparent and slightly curvier, and fractionally larger case of the standard Pro 2 2500 variant.

Another small difference between the 2500 and the 2000 is the colour of the grip that runs down the handle of the brush.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 4

The 2000 comes in a blue or pink colour normally, but the 2500 often has a black coloured rubber grip down the handle.

For some, this makes the brush more appealing, for others less so. There are other colour variants available.

In hand the brush is lovely and slim.  

What Oral-B do well is striking a balance between form and function.

Large enough you can grip onto it easily, but slim enough it does not feel chunky in hand.

There are 2 parts to the brush, the handle that has all the clever bits of technology in and the detachable brush head.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 5

The brush handle is completely sealed.  Inside is the battery, the motor and other electronics that make this brush function.  It is sealed to avoid water getting into it.

This does mean the handle is water resistant and can survive splashes of water or rinsing under the tap, the least you should expect from a toothbrush right?!

It has not been designed to be immersed in water.  So, don’t let the kids use this as a pretend submarine in the bath!

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 6

With the 2500 it is a classic black and white colour combination.  The main body is a gloss white with the black accent being the rubber grip that runs top to bottom down the brush handle.

The single button on the front of the brush stands out because it is white in colour, contrasting against the black.

This single button is the power button that turns the brush on and off but also switches the cleaning modes too.  More on this shortly.

Above and below this power button are contours in the rubber that drive the eye and the finger/thumb to it.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 7

The lower third of the brush handle has the Oral-B and Braun logo in white and then a battery and charging icon below them.

The transparent icons light up when on charge or when the battery is low.  This is where one of the small criticisms of this rush comes in.

The upper charging icon lights up red when the battery is low whilst the battery icon will flash green when on charge.  For me, I would like to see more feedback from the battery.  For example, when the brush is turned off, the battery icon stays lit for 10 seconds, green to show a good amount of power in the battery, yellow for medium and red for low, but sadly this is not the case.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 8

Many will leave the brush on the charging stand provided, but it would be nice in my opinion to have this extra level of feedback.  However, with up to 16 days of usage time from the battery maybe this is not necessary.

The gloss white plastic sides to the brush as smooth, but not too slippery to the touch.  The rear of the handle has a series of ridges that run from the top to about half way down the handle.  These act as gripping points for the hand and fingers when in use, these are particularly good if your hands are wet.  They are a little harsher to the fingertips than the rubber on the front but they do the job well.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 9

If you take a look at the very bottom of the brush, although it stands upright, you will find a recess into which the inductive charger fits.

The charging stand has a protuberance that the 2500 brush handle sits on.

Right at the top of the brush handle is a metal prong, this is what the brush head connects to and feeds the power from the brush motor.

The front mounted power button needs to be pressed once to turn the brush on.  It will begin running the Daily Clean mode.  This is the go to mode on all brushes.  If you press it again on the 2500, it will change to Sensitive mode and a third and final press will turn the brush off.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 10

Requiring a firm push the power button has a decent level of resistance.  It is not too hard to switch the brush on, but it's not likely to turn on unless you really mean to press the button.

Sensitive mode offered on this brush delivers fewer movements to the brush head from the brush motor for a softer and more enjoyable brushing experience, particularly if you have sensitive teeth and gums.

If you would like to know more about how these cleaning modes differ you can find out more here.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 11

It is not the biggest frustration, but the brush does not have any way of showing you what cleaning mode is running.  Some brushes have LED icons, but not here.

The brush also does not remember the mode you are using.  So, if the Sensitive mode is your preferred mode, every time you power the brush on you need to press the power button twice.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 12

By no means essential, you may wish if using the Sensitive mode to invest in a Sensitive brush head. It may come supplied, subject to what variant you buy, but if not, it could be worth considering.

The more standard CrossAction brush head included with this review unit has stiffer bristles than the sensitive brush heads you can get on the Pro 2 2500S.

The Oral-B Pro 2500 pink, otherwise known as the Pro 2 2500W comes with a 3D White brush head.

In fact, there are a number of different brush heads that can be used.  You can find out more about these, how they differ and which is best for you, but reading our ultimate guide to Oral-B brush heads.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 13

Make sure the head of the brush is replaced every 3 months to avoid doing damage to the teeth.  It can be difficult to remember when you last changed or replaced the heads.  

Thankfully the blue bristles you see on the head will fade over time.  When they are a very pale blue or white, you need to replace the head.

All official Oral-B heads have these fading bristles.  Other brands may not so be aware of this, if not buying manufacturer originals.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 14

There are 2 really useful features built into this brush than I have not mentioned yet.

One is the Pressure Sensor.  

On the neck of the brush handle is a plastic panel that is a red/orange colour.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 15

Behind this is an LED that lights up to produce a bright red light when too much pressure is detected during the brushing.  It goes out as soon as the pressure is reduced.

At the same time as too much pressure is detected, the motor will automatically reduce the power it delivers.

Applying too much pressure when brushing is a big issue and it causes more damage than you might think.  A brush need only skim the surface of the tooth and gums.

The job of the pressure sensor is to alert you, protect you and educate you into being more careful when brushing.

Those moving to an electric toothbrush for the first time will likely activate it more frequently.  Don’t worry too much, within a few weeks you will adjust to the pressure required.

Long term electric toothbrush users will likely not activate it, but it is a nice feature to have nonetheless.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 16

The other feature is the timer and quadpacer.

Dentists recommend brushing the teeth for 2 minutes, twice a day.  The Pro 2 2500 helps with this.

You should imagine your mouth broken up into 4 sections. Upper right, upper left, lower right and lower left.   The idea is that you spend 30 seconds cleaning each section.  The pacer helps you keep an even brushing time on these 4 sections.  Together these add up to the 2 minute total.

On the 2500 at the 30 second intervals, the brush will provide an audible warning via a slight pause in the brush motor.  This is your cue to change quadrant.  Once the 2 minutes are up 3 brief pauses in the brush motor will be heard and felt.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 17

As important, is making sure you brush for the right amount of time.  It is not the same technique with an electric toothbrush.  You can learn here.

Both of the cleaning modes on this model last for the full 2 minutes.

I really like the clean that the brush offers, my mouth felt really fresh after brushing.

The noise the Pro 2500 makes is quite a bit louder than a Colgate C250 or a Sonicare equivalent.  Those are quieter when running.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 18

Unlike some other models the box contents is limited, there is the travel case which is transparent, fairly thin, but robust enough for what it needs to do.  You can get better travel cases but you have to pay for it.

As standard, the 2500 comes with a 2 year/24 month warranty.  But, register it online and you get an extra year for free, no cost so 36 months or 3 years in total.

One final thing to be aware of is that there is a money back guarantee on offer from Oral-B.  It is essentially like a trial, whereby you can buy and try the brush.  Should you not like it you can return it for a refund.  This is particularly useful if you are unsure whether an electric toothbrush is for you.  Find out more about it here.

Summary of design, usability, clean & general use

Slim and comfortable brush to hold and use
2 cleaning modes - daily clean and sensitive
Need to switch the brush on to change cleaning modes
1 x CrossAction brush head included
Built-in quad pacer and 2 minute timer tells you when to change quadrant and finish brushing
16 day battery life, but no percentage indicator for clear feedback of remaining power
Water resistant and can be used in the shower
A basic travel case is included

Battery life

If you read the introduction to this review, I mentioned how the Pro 2 2500 was a little different to the model it replaces, the Pro 2500.

As part of a range upgrade Oral-B have changed the batteries inside the brush handle from Nickel Metal Hydride batteries (NiMH) to Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion).

The result is double the battery life!

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 19

Where the Oral-B Pro 2500 electric rechargeable toothbrush battery life was once just 7 days/28 minutes of actual usage time, the result now from my hands on testing is 66 minutes of running time.

That equates to 16 days usage.

Strictly speaking, 66 minutes is 16.5 days but I have rounded it down to account for over brushing time/lost power from delays in turning the brush off.

Supplied with a charging stand, when the battery needs replenishing, simply set the brush on the stand.

A full charge can take up to 15 hours.  It is however perfectly fine to take it off charge sooner as it is fine to leave the brush on the stand.

The power cable that is attached to the stand has a 2 pin connector attached.  Designed to connect to a power socket found in a bathroom.  Working on 220-240v it is possible to connect it to a 3 pin UK socket with use of an adapter.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 20

When charging the battery charging icon flashes green.

When power is low the battery status icon will flash red and you will likely feel the decrease in brush power.

Competing brands still give Oral-B a good run for their money, with equivalents offering up to 3 weeks usage time.

Summary of battery life

Newer Lithium-Ion battery technology used
66 minutes of usage time or 16 days usage based on 2 cleans a day
Can be left on the charger
Takes up to 15 hours to charge fully
A charger is included in the box
Status icon flashes green when charging and red when the battery is low
Works on 220-240 volts
Competition still offer up to 3 weeks usage

Price & where to buy

I have included links to buying options here at the start of the review.

In the section below, I discuss the price more generally and in relation to similar products.

A brush is only worth what you are prepared to pay for it.

If you think it is worth £100 and want to pay this then that is fine, that is your choice, it’s your money after all.

However, given that I have tested and purchased many brushes I have a good feel for where the price should sit.

The Pro 2 2500 has a recommended retail price of £79.99, which is £10 more than the Pro 2 2000 that comes supplied without a travel case.

From a retail perspective that is probably what the case is worth if purchased separately.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 21

If you need a case for your brush because you travel frequently, I would say it is worth picking up the 2500 over the 2000, providing the cost is no more than £10 more expensive.

The good news is that the price differences between the two models (at the time of writing) is less than that.

I have seen them with just a few pennies between them and a full £10 difference.

Both brushes sell on average at 40-50% below their RRP with the Pro 2 2000 being sold from £30-40, thus the 2500 will be around £35-45.

If there is less than £5 difference and you are not worried about colour it makes most sense really to go for the 2500 to have the travel case, should you need it.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 22

Prices will vary from store to store.  Quite often online retailers will have the best price.

This brush like every other requires replacement brush heads for each user every 3 months.  Replacement heads can be purchased in packs of 4 and are priced on average between £11 and £14.

Using the average cost (based on one user) and ownership over 3 years (the same as the warranty period (if registered online)), the Pro 2 2500 will cost £74 or 7p per day to own.  

This price does exclude the cost of water, toothpaste and electric to charge it.  This price also works on some assumptions, but you get a rough idea.

Please note that all prices quoted are approximates and will vary based on location, supplier and time of purchase.  These figures were correct at the time of writing and should not be relied upon as hard fact, but used as a guide during your decision process.

Summary of price & where to buy

Recommended retail price of £79.99
Generally available with 40% or more off RRP; circa £35-40
Works out at around 7p per day over 3 years
Worth spending £5-10 more to get this because of the case

Reliability & long term use

None of the brushes we test here at Electric Teeth go through specialist machines for drop tests or reliability trials.  We do not have such equipment.

We put them through the life test.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 23

We use them, look at them in detail, compare them to the competition.

Oral-B has developed pretty strong reliability over the years they have been making brushes and we find the failure rate to be low.

Most never go wrong, but inevitably some will.

Should the Oral-B Pro 2500 electric rechargeable toothbrush fail and the fault is as a result of parts or workmanship rather than user damage then it will be covered under the warranty.

The standard warranty or guarantee if you prefer runs for 2 years/24 months from the date of purchase.

Oral-B Pro 2 2500 review 24

Taking just 2 minutes to register your Pro 2 2500 via Oral-B’s website and you can get an extra years warranty at no cost to you.

For a brush of this price, I think a 3 year warranty is pretty impressive.

During my testing, I have looked for possible weaknesses but found nothing of concern.

Conclusion

Superb, excellent, brilliant are all words that can be used to describe this brush.

Just go buy it, providing it is cheaper than the Oral-B Pro 3 3500.

The Pro 2 2500 has now been discontinued and isn't as easy to source or as good value as it once was.

But, it is still a very good toothbrush.

Slim, comfortable in hand and providing a good clean there is little to dislike or complain about this brush.

It has all you need of an electric toothbrush and will do you proud.

Size guide

  • Toothbrush height with head - 23.5cm / 9.5 inches
  • Toothbrush height without head - 19.5cm / 7.7 inches
  • Width - 2.3cm / 0.9 inches
  • Depth/thickness - 2.9cm / 1.1 inches
  • Weight with head - 129g / 4.6oz
  • Weight without head - 123g / 4.3oz
  • Travel case size - 20cm / 7.9 inches (L) x 6cm / 2.4 inches (W) x 3.2cm / 1.3 inches (D)
  • Travel case weight - 64g / 2.3oz without brush or 193g / 6.8oz with brush
  • Package weight - 510g / 18oz

Noise

  • 76dB

Country of manufacture

  • Germany
Author: Jon Love
Medical reviewer: Dr Gemma Wheeler, BDS

Related Topics

Leave a comment

I accept the Privacy Policy

L
Lex
May 29, 2022

Hi,
Thanks for the review. I see an Oral B Smart 2500 on Oral B's US website with 360 degree visible pressure sensor. Is that smart 2500 the same as the Pro 2 2500 which you reviewed here?

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
May 30, 2022

Hi Lex.

No, the models are slightly different. From a cleaning perspective, they are essentially like for like, they differ primarily in their design. It is essentially like the Oral-B Smart 1500 in the USA that we have reviewed on our US site here.

SW
Stuart Walker
April 19, 2022

Is the charger base that comes with the Oral B Pro 2 2500 compatible with older brushes using the NiMh batteries? That is, is it the same 3757 one that my old 3756 brush uses, so I could use the old base as a spare?

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
April 19, 2022

As far as I understand you can use the newer stand to charge older models Stuart.

P
Paul
January 31, 2022

Hi
Thanks for the detailed review.
Would this brush be suitable for a 10 year old - combined with the sensitive brush head, perhaps?
Thanks

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
February 1, 2022

Hi Paul. Yes, a 10 year old should be able to use this. Probably best to use the 2nd slower speed cleaning mode available on the brush to start with to ease your 10 year old into it. After a short while they can probably use the normal daily clean mode.

P
Paul
February 1, 2022

Great. Thanks for the quick response.

M
Mohamed
September 5, 2021

Thank you for the excellent review. Which one do you think is better Oral-B Pro 2 2500 or Oral B teen for adults ?

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
September 6, 2021

The Oral-B Pro 2 2500 Mohamed. In truth, there is little difference between them. They clean the teeth as well as each other. The Oral-B Teen has 'Smart' features, but not required.

MS
Mohammed Sakhawat
August 26, 2021

Hi Jon

Thank you for your superb and extensive review. I was about purchase this via Amazon when I noticed that Amazon are advertising a newer version of this product, namely the Oral B Pro 3 3500. Is this any better than the 2 2500?

Many thanks

Mohammed

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
August 27, 2021

Hi Mohammed.

Thanks for the question.

The Pro 3 3500 doesn't clean the teeth any better.

The key difference is the design of the brush handle is a bit sleeker with the Pro 3 3500 than the 2 2500. Although to me it feels a little less grippy, but there isn't a huge amount of difference between them.
The 3500 also has a 360 degree pressure sensor around the neck of the brush head rather than the roughly 180 degree option of the Pro 2 25000.

Personally, I would stick with the 2 2500 assuming the price is favourable.

MS
Mohammed Sakhawat
August 27, 2021

Hi Jon

Thank you for quick response it is much appreciated. The 2 2500 is on sale at £29.99, and after finding your site I will take your advice and buy this.
I would like to extend my thanks to the whole team behind electric teeth for their invaluable and through articles on everything related to dentistry. It is greatly appreciated to find a site that is informative and through.

I would recommend this site to anybody out there that is looking for good sound advice with recommendations.

Well done all.

Regards

Mohammed
Many thanks

CC
Colin Charman
May 4, 2021

We have a pair of Pro 6000 brushes, which work with the clock/timer.

Will the Pro 2500 or Pro 2 2500 work with the same clock/timer (I don't want a mobile phone in the bathroom).

Are there any other current brushes that are compatible with the clock/timer and do they use the same charger and toothbrush heads

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
May 4, 2021

Hi Colin. Thanks for the question.
The Pro 2500 and Pro 2 2500 will not work with the clock/timer, also known as a Smart Guide, that you have.
There are brushes that are still compatible. Those compatible brushes have Bluetooth built-in. The Oral-B Smart 4 4000 or 5 5000 would be my recommendation. This article has more information. However, it does appear Oral-B is gradually phasing out support. So I can't give an absolute 100% guarantee of compatibility.
You don't have to use a smartphone with the toothbrush, but you will be paying a premium for a feature you will not use other than to connect it to the clock/timer.
The heads and charges are the same.

CC
Colin Charman
May 4, 2021

Thanks so much for your answer. I notice there are brushes with an N suffix - Smart 4 4000N and Smart 5 5000N. Are they likely to be compatible with the clock/timer, heads and charger?

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
May 4, 2021

Hi Colin.

The N, should/normally depicts the brush head supplied. N usually equals CrossAction brush head. Whereas S equals Snesitive/Sensi UltraThin brush head.

These 'should' be compatible. But, as I mentioned, Oral-B appear to be updating the firmware on their toothbrush handles which can potentially make them incompatible. This firmware is applied at the time of manufacture. Thus, I can't make any guarantee.

Affecting this will be the supplier and how old there stock is.

You could put this question to Oral-B directly, and see if they can give anything more accurate, but I think their answer may be a bit vague.

JR
Jeannie Rau
April 5, 2021

Hi Jon . . . Just a question following my comments. I’ve got two slightly wobbly teeth, I’m wondering if an electric toothbrush will loosen them further? I would add that I do visit my dentist every 3 months so I’m not neglecting my teeth. He tells me that the loose ones often firm-up again and I have found that to be the case. But I don’t want to find that an electric brush whizzes so fast that I’ll be minus two teeth within days haha!

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
April 6, 2021

It shouldn't do.

If the dentist is happy to leave them in place and sees no issue with them being slightly wobbly then all should be fine. You are having very regular checkups so if the loose tooth issue was serious I am sure your dentist would do something about it. If you start using and are at all concerned then do consult with your dentist.

JR
Jeannie Rau
April 5, 2021

This is the most thorough and comprehensive review of a small electrical item that I’ve ever come across. It’s brilliant. I wish that reviews of other similar items were as informative at this one. I am going to purchase the Pro 2 2500 and will look for the sensitive model if possible. If not, I’ll just buy the sensitive brushes. Thank you Jon!

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
April 6, 2021

Hi Jennaie.

I am glad you like the review and trust you found it helpful.

Please do let me know what you think of the Pro 2 2500 once you have used it.

K
Karolina
December 27, 2020

Merry Christmas Everyone! I hope everyone’s fine. I got the oral b pro2 2500 as a Christmas gift and a thing that really bothers me is that head slightly wobbles to sides when toothbrush is working.(I tried two different heads and it doesn’t get better with any of them.) It bothers me, because it differs from my husband toothbrush-one of the newest models. I don’t know if I should complain or it’s just the way it is. I’d be so glad for a quick response. Thanks!

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
December 28, 2020

When you suggest it wobbles, is it quite pronounced or very minor? The heads should not really wobble as such.

The head turns back and forth in a circular motion, at a very rapid rate, which in addition to the pulsation cleaning motion gives the most minute of wobbles but you would really have to study the head. Essentially it is not really pronounced and obvious.

A
Attila
November 14, 2020

hi

Are the two modes mentioned correctly?
In the manual (and in your youtube video) there are daily + gum care modes.
I think this is the correct one.

In this article there daily + sensitive modes. This one is not correct (?)

Anyway I love your site, your articles and your videos.
Keep up the great work.
Thanks

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
November 15, 2020

Hi Attila.

Well spotted. It was an error in the video. It should have been Sensitive rather than Gum care. Originally I was under the impression it was gum care mode, but I was wrong.

I can confirm that the article is correct. The modes on the Pro 2 2500 are Daily Clean and Sensitive.

This link will take you to the user manual. You will see that the 2 modes are Daily Clean and Sensitive on the handle type 3766, which is the one you get with the Pro 2 2500.

L
Lara
November 13, 2020

Hi John,

I hope you are well.

I am really confused between the oral B pro 2 2500 and the oral-B Smart 5 5000. If you were to recommend one of these two, which one would it be?

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
November 14, 2020

Hi Lara.

The Oral-B Pro 2 2500 would be my recommendation.

Both are excellent toothbrushes and will clean the teeth well.

The Smart 5 5000 offers extra features, that the vast majority do not need or will not use. There are exceptions of course. But, feedback suggests many don't stick to using the apps and extra cleaning modes.

The Pro 2 2500 is a more cost-effective option. You are paying for what you will need and use and nothing more.

If you have any questions, do let me know.

J
Jitendra
August 17, 2020

Thank you for your comments.
I always thought that oral b battery brush was fine and threw it away and got a new one as it was not worth getting new batteries and head. However the cross head certainly works better.
Plenty of time to look into minutiae....if I can help in any way do let me know!
Jiten

J
Jitendra
August 16, 2020

Fascination. Came across your web by chance as I was looking at the oral B Io brush. I have used the basic electric battery toothbrush and now cannot use a rechargeable as following a stroke have to use a bathroom without a shaver socket.
The question is how good/bad is the basic brush? In face I happen go into a local Lidl and they have a basic battery toothbrush, it is a P&G for £5!
I think it is a 1000 type brush.
Thank you. Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
August 17, 2020

Hi Jitendra.

A basic battery toothbrush is fine. Yes, an electric toothbrush with a built-in rechargeable battery does tend to be a bit better. But....

The reality is, more important than the type of toothbrush is your brushing technique and the time you spend brushing. Get these 2 things perfected and the benefits will be greater than changing to an electric toothbrush alone.

A manual toothbrush is in all reality perfectly fine, when used correctly.

The extra power & movements of the electric toothbrush do bring benefits for sure but they are not an absolute must.

£5 for a brush sounds great, assuming that both the brush head and the batteries are replaceable. There are Oral-B brushes that have a battery sealed inside and a non-detachable brush head. Thus, once the battery fails or the brush head is worn out you have to replace it.

PC
Pauline Chiu
June 11, 2020

Would you review Panasonic Doltz Sonic Toothbrush

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
June 12, 2020

Hi Pauline.

We have no plans to review this product currently as it is designed primarily for the Japanese market and is not really sold in the UK.

ag
alon gottstein
August 20, 2019

john, i can't find this on amazon.com.
i'd like to order it but it is nowhere to be found. Suggestions

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
August 21, 2019

Hi Alon.

Are you based in the USA, UK or somewhere else?

The Pro 2 2500 is a UK & European model. There are similar models for the USA or elsewhere. I can advise when I know more.

ag
alon gottstein
August 21, 2019

Hello John

thanks so much for noticing and for reaching out. I am actually based in Israel. I do not see an equivalent model here. I have amazon prime in US and will be going to US in a few weeks. in theory i could order from UK and ship here but it may end up costing more and losing the benefits of what you recommend. So, either in the US or in Israel makes most sense.. Grateful. Alon

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
August 22, 2019

Hi Alon.

Thanks for this information.

Based on this, I suggest when in the USA, you purchase the Oral-B Pro 1500.

For the most part it is identical to the Pro 2 2500, the only difference being it doesn't come with a travel case and the colour is different.

I have reviewed this toothbrush on our USA focused website. CLICK HERE to see the review.

if you need more information, let me know.

KM
Katherine Mannion
June 7, 2019

Hi there.
I'm buying an electric toothbrush for the first time and definitely going for PRO 2 2500N as recommended by my hygienist. The only (maybe trivial) question is do you supply any other colour than black ?
Thank you

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
June 8, 2019

Hi Katherine.

Just to be clear, we, Electric Teeth don't design, manufacture or sell the brushes ourselves. We have reviewed them and know a lot about them. The brushes are made by Oral-B.

There is a Pro 2 2500 with a pink rubber grip, rather than black. This is normally known as the Pro 2 2500W. It comes with a 3D White brush head. The heads are interchangeable so you can use a different style of Oral-B brush head, such as the CrossAction (found on the 2500N model) if you prefer.

C
Christina
April 6, 2019

Hi Jon, based on your very informative and helpful review I also went for the Oral B pro 2 2500. I've had the brush for just over a week now and on the whole I am happy with it. I also have not experienced 2 weeks of battery life. I charged it fully after unboxing and have used it for about 6 days and the red light has already come on to indicate low battery. This makes me think the brush probably does not travel well particularly without the charger.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
April 7, 2019

Hi Christina.

Thanks for the comment.

I am pleased to hear the review helped you make a decision.

The Pro 2 2500 should have a battery life of 2 weeks, so 6 days is a bit concerning.

Can I clarify you definitely have the Pro 2 2500 and not just the Pro 2500 (note the lack of extra 2 in the name).

The Pro 2500 came before the Pro 2 2500 and offered just a weeks battery life.

If you do have the newer Pro 2 2500 how long are you brushing for each time you use it? Is it 2 minutes?

Do you brush your teeth twice a day or more than this?

C
Christina
April 13, 2019

Hi Jon,

Yes it is definitely the Pro 2 2500N it says it on the box, mine has a black frontage and I have the travel case included. I bought it from Amazon and did double check it before purchasing that i was not buying the older model.

I brush twice a day for 2 mins, I use the timer as a guide for when to move on to the next section.

I was just checking the Amazon reviews and some other users have left reviews saying the battery life is not as long as stated so perhaps this is a common issue.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
April 14, 2019

Hi Christina.

Thanks for the confirmation. All understood.

I wanted to check as others have commented to me about this before and it transpires they have bought the older version.

In this instance, you might want to see if a return to Amazon is possible rather than a repair with Oral-B.

If a return is not possible, you can follow the directions outlined in our Oral-B warranty article and get it repaired.

M
Matt
January 14, 2019

Hello I have purchased Oral B pro- 2 2900 model. Inside of the box there were two toothbrush and one charge station. Is the 2500 same with 2900? Can you inform me about the oscillation of 2900? I like your website

Sincerely Yours

M
Matt
March 4, 2019

hello this is my second mail. I like your comments and 'm following your webside in Turkey. Is there any differences between Oral B Pro 2 2900 and Oral B Pro Care 3000? I have pro care 3000 to and it has one more option. That is whitening. Are they same oscillations and pulsations? Whenever I use pro 2900, it seems more powerful than 3000 due to lithium battery.

Thank You

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
March 5, 2019

Hi Matt.

Models around the world do vary in specification etc. I am not overly familiar with the range of brushes available in Turkey, but I think the Pro Care 3000 is an older brush, whilst the Pro 2 2900 is a newer model. I do not see the Pro Care 3000 on the Oral-B website for Turkey.

If I understand it correctly, yes the Pro 2 2900 has a slight power increase over the older Pro Care 3000, which you may well be able to notice, but in truth will bring little if any significant cleaning benefit.

It could be that the battery has degraded on the Pro Care 3000. How long have you had this?

M
Matt
March 5, 2019

The model that I mentioned is https://goo.gl/images/hwnCa1

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
March 5, 2019

Hi Matt.

Thanks for this. So, the Pro 3000 on that link you provide has a maximum number of oscillations of 8,800 and 40,000 pulsations.

The Pro 2 2900 has 9,900 oscillations and 48,000 pulsations.

So as you can see the Pro 2 2900 is slightly more powerful.

The battery is different also. Lithium-Ion in the 2900 compared to Nickel Metal Hydride in the 3000.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
January 15, 2019

Hi Matt.

The Oral-B Pro 2 2900 is a package that contains 2 x Oral-B Pro 2 2000 brush handles.

The technical capabilities of the Oral-B Pro 2 2000 and the Pro 2 2500 are the same, it is just the box contents that differs.

The Pro 2 series offers up to 9,900 oscillations and 45,000 pulsations.

M
Matt
September 26, 2019

Hello. I want to buy oral b pro 6000. Are oral b pro 6000, oral b pro 6900 same with triumph? Their chasis are looking same. Apart from that could you inform me about oscillations and pulsations
Thank you

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
September 26, 2019

Hi Matt.

I was not aware of the 6900 until you have mentioned it.

It appears to be a model sold in Turkey and similar countries. From what I can tell it is very similar to the Oral-B Pro/SmartSeries 6000.

Whilst I cannot say conclusively, I expect it is 8,800 oscillations and 40,000 pulsations.

M
Matt
September 26, 2019

Thank you very much Jon. Best wishes from Turkey. If you get info please share me

M
Mohima
December 23, 2018

Hi! Your website is fab and your youtube, thankyou for making toothbrush buying alot easier! I am new to this and it will be my first purchase of an electric toothbrush. I am happy with your number one choice of brush Pro 2 2500 but I would like a whitening mode.which one would your recommend if that is the only extra I want but still retain all the features in the Pro 2 2500? I don’t understand the part about brush heads as well. If i use a whitening head, is it the same thing as using the whitening mode on the brush? Meaning could I just buy a whitening head and then the pro 2 2500 would be perfect? Also if ypu choose to use say a whitening head at all times, does it still clean as effectively as a standard head? Or do you brush with the regular one and change immediately after to specifically say..whiten with just the whitening head? Haha sorry that is so long. I don’t want to waste money :( and get something that’s an overkill or worse, something that doesn’t meet my needs and have to spend again just for one feature 🤯 thankyou!

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
December 23, 2018

Hi Mohima,

Thanks for the comment. I am pleased you have found it useful.

The whitening of the teeth and using an electric toothbrush for that is complicated. There are many different scenarios and lifestyle conditions to consider.

In the very near future we will have a guide that explains this all in detail. However, here is the short answer for now.

A toothbrush with a whitening mode or a whitening brush head is not guaranteed to give whitening results.

A brush can only ever remove 'extrinsic' stains, these are marks and discolouration on the outside of the tooth.

These are often caused by the food and drink we consume.

Whilst a whitening mode or a whitening brush head such as Oral-B's 3D white brush head can potentially achieve the results of whitening quicker, it is not guaranteed.

In most instances just using an electric brush, twice a day, for 2 minutes each time, with the correct technique and a good toothpaste, your teeth may get whiter.

Therefore, I would suggest, stick with the Pro 2 2500. Try a 3D White brush head, but really don't worry about a brush with a whitening mode.

The 3D White brush head can be used on a daily basis, but for the best results, I would suggest you maybe use it for 3 months, then replace with a Sensitive or CrossAction head for 3 months and then potentially back to a 3D White again if you want to.

I hope this helps.

MF
Mohima Farchu
January 11, 2019

Omg I came back to see if you replied because I couldn’t see a notification anywhere, must have forgotton to check the box. I appreciate the detailed and very helpful response! Think I am goong to buy this and the sensetive head because I actually have quite sensetive teeth and forgot to look for this feature *facepalm*. Thanks so muchhhh! Can’t express my gratitude. I don’t know if you get paid for this but I am going to share this on my snapchat and instagram (@mohimafarchu). I am a makeup artist and people are always asking about these types of products. Will refer them over to your website! Fab work, thanks so much!! <3

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
January 11, 2019

Thanks Mohima, glad you found our content useful. 😁

K
Ken
December 11, 2018

On Amazon UK, the Pro 2 2500N and 2500W are currently selling for £30 and £34 respectively.

I recently got one for myself and one for my mum. The only thing I dislike is the vibration that reminds you to change mouth quadrant every 30 seconds. I like to take my time while brushing and go at my own pace, so the vibration is just distracting. I’m sure I’ll get used to it in time.

CC
Carol Curran
November 13, 2018

What a helpful and comprehensive website. Well done!

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
November 14, 2018

Thanks Carol.

C
Chris
October 23, 2018

Hi
A big thumbs up for your extremely comprehensive reviews and recommendations. The best on the web!
I've just replaced my old Oral B brush with this new Pro 2 2500, and my initial reaction is a very positive 'yes'!
It's much slimmer and fits really well in the hand, which makes it easy to reach those awkward areas that my dentist keeps remarking on, particularly the innermost side of the upper and lower front teeth.
Time will tell how it performs long-term but it's definitely off to a great start!
For those who might wish to know, the Braun brush head storage compartment (an optional extra purchase) fits this model's charger perfectly!
The only 'con' so far, is that the mains lead is on the short side (just under a metre).
Thanks again for your very helpful review!

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
October 23, 2018

Hi Chris.

Thanks for the comment and feedback. Glad to know you are pleased so far.👍

C
Chris
October 25, 2018

Any idea where I could source a short ‘bathroom safe’ white 2 pin male/female extension lead. The charger mains cable is just a little too short to reach the shaver socket in the mirror surround?
Thanks

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
October 26, 2018

Hi Chris,

You are not the first to ask for such a product, but I have yet to see or find such a product.

It is amazing that such does not exist.

A few people have made a DIY attempt, but I do not endorse this.

I think sadly, most then opt to charge their brush elsewhere in the home, using a 2pin to 3 pin converter.

C
Chris
October 26, 2018

Thanks Jon

F
Frederic
August 29, 2018

How is this pro 2 2500 compare to pro 3 3000?

Does it allow to charge the toothbrush while inside the travel case?

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
August 29, 2018

Hi Frederic.

Good question.

I have written a comparison of the Pro 2 2500 against the Pro 3 3000 here.

Hopefully that article answers all you need to know.

The brush cannot be charged inside the cases with these models. For that, you need to look at the Genius 9000. Or buy the case that is designed for the Genius 9000 and use the Pro 2 2500/Pro 3 3000 inside it. The fit of the handles is not perfect and the cost is quite high to do this.

MS
MOHAMMED SAJID
June 1, 2018

YOUR ALL REVIEWS ARE SUPERB AND TRUSTWORTHY

U R GREAT

AND THANKS FOR HONEST REVIEWS

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
June 2, 2018

Thank you :-)

Hm
Hugh mcAndrew
May 15, 2018

I am on my 4 th pro 2000-2500 as they have all the same fault, when I charge them I go to brush my teeth in the morning and they don't work until I put back on charger for a split second and that is it until the next charge. Has anyone else experienced this problem. My wife bought one at same time hers is no problem.

RC
Rory Choudhuri
January 5, 2019

Somewhat pleased to read this, as I have a similar issue. At least I’m not alone!
I bought an Oral-B Pro 2 2500N. Works fine at home. Does not travel. Fully charged, placed in the supplied hard plastic case - no way the power button can be pressed. On 3 separate occasions, after a flight, the toothbrush will not work, and the red power light flashes. Yet the toothbrush is fully charged and a few minutes on a charger will restore operation – IF you have packed the charger as well, which is supposed to not be required for short trips.

H
Hugh
January 5, 2019

Mine would not work in the morning after being charged the day before. A split second on charger and away it went until the next time it got charged. I had 4 in a row the same, now I just put up with it.

N
Nick
June 16, 2018

Hi Hugh,

I have EXACTLY same problem as you...
Thank you for posting this - since hearing it I will probably go for refund.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
May 15, 2018

Wow Hugh, the 4th brush to have such an issue, that seems strange.

Naturally some faults can exist, but to get the same issue this many times seems odd.

Have the ones you had been repaired or replaced or are you buying new ones?

NR
NUNO RODRIGUES
May 14, 2018

Hello.
how different are the "machines" in 9000 and Pro2 2500 in terms of Oscillations and
pulsations per minute for example?
Thank you?

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
May 15, 2018

Hi Nuno,

There are not massive differences.

The Pro 2 2500 offers up to 9,900 pulsations and 45,000 oscillations.

The Genius 9000 offers 10,500 pulsations and 48,000 oscillations as far as I am aware.

J
Joe
November 25, 2018

Would be good if you made this information more prominent, since this is probably the most important factor when it comes to plaque removal efficacy.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
November 26, 2018

Hi Joe.

Thanks for the feedback. I will certainly consider if there is a way this information can be made more prominent in the future.

The problem is in my opinion that making too much of a thing of the brush movements may mean users are looking for the fastest and most powerful all the time, thinking this is better, when really it is not all that important.

Whilst I do agree that it will have some impact on how well plaque can be removed, there is little evidence that I have seen that highlights or confirms that additional brush head movements are that beneficial in plaque removal.

What I mean by this, there is no evidence that I know of that suggests the Genius 9000 is technically better at cleaning the plaque away than the Pro 2 2500 and therefore make it worth the investment.

Many people do not brush for the right amount of time, nor use the correct brushing technique. In most cases, this is because they have never been shown. Perfecting these will have far greater improvement than the speed of the brush head.

You may have the technique and routine nailed in which case the Genius 9000 and the extra movements it offers may bring benefits to yourself.

A
ANDY
February 24, 2018

JUST GIVEN THE PRO2 2500N A WEEKS TRIAL
NOT IMPRESSED WITH THE BATTERY LIFE AS IT'S DRAINED OUT ALREADY
ORAL B RECKON 2WEEKS WITHOUT A CHARGE BASED ON 2X DAILY BRUSHING ON A FULL 2MINS BRUSH (DONE THAT)
ORAL B WANT TO GET THEIR FACTS RIGHT BEFORE BANGING ON ABOUT HOW GOOD THEIR LI-ION BATTERY LIFE IS!!
NOT HAPPY.

GA
Gary Altenburger
May 22, 2019

I wouldn't worry about the battery life. My previous Oral B was a top of the line with the pressure sensor and different modes. I always kept it on the charging stand. The battery finally died after almost ten years. Unbelievable that it lasted that long. I will be happy if this one lasts half as long.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
February 25, 2018

Hi Andy,

Thanks for the comment.

Sorry to hear you are not getting the battery life from the Pro 2 2500 that you believed you would.

Presumably you have ensured you have fully charged the brush? How long are you brushing for? The battery life is based on 2 cleans lasting 2 minutes per day.

HM
Hugh McAndrew
January 12, 2018

Thanks Jon Oral B has repaired it and back to me in less than a week from postage.

HM
Hugh McAndrew
January 11, 2018

I bought 3 oral b pro 2 2500 electric toothbrushes in a month and had to return each one with the same complaint. When you get them they are charged and after I fully charged them all day the next morning when going to brush my teeth they would not work. I plugged them into the charger for a split second and they would go. My wife bought one the same as me and worked after charge okay. Apart from that problem I liked the brush.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
January 11, 2018

Sounds like a bad batch Hugh. Shame. Glad you liked it though.

K
Ken
December 30, 2017

I think it is excellent that the battery has been changed to extend the time between charges. I already own 2 Braun electric toothbrushes but the battery time is reducing right down. (one of them has to stay on charge permanently and only lasts exactly 2 minutes, It is old though).I hope I get even more years out of the new purchase. Over the years I have been very happy with them and would never change back to a manual one.

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
December 30, 2017

Thanks for the comment Ken.

A
Angelina
December 13, 2017

Based on your excellent, unbiased and informative reviews I have bought 6 Oral-B electric brushes as Christmas gifts this year. Hope all will be well received. Thanks!

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
December 14, 2017

Hi Angelina.

Wow, 6! I hope they are well received too. Perhaps you can let us know what the users think of them.

Glad you found the reviews unbiased and informative.

A
Alex
December 12, 2017

Very helpful - Made my decision on which brush to buy based on this site's reviews and then followed the link to Amazon!

Jon was even online to chat and advise!

Thanks

JL
Jon Love - Chief tester
December 12, 2017

Pleased to hear I could help Alex. :-)

logo
Never neglect your teeth again. Sign up to our newsletter today for honest advice and transparent reviews